0141 339 1720

251 Byres Road, Hillhead, Glasgow, G12 8UB
(Opposite Hillhead Underground Station)

Hyperopia

In Hypermetropia (long sightedness), the eye is shorter than normal or the cornea is too flat, so that light rays focus behind the retina. Light rays from close objects such as pages of a book cannot be focused on clearly by the retina. Someone with hypermetropic eyes may find their vision is blurred when looking at objects near to them, and for vision to be clearer when looking at far away objects. Placing a plus powered (convex) lens in front of a hypermetropic eye allows the image to be moved forward allowing for correct focus on the retina.

A degree of long-sightedness is common in many people, although this only presents a problem when our ability to see is significantly affected or where headaches and eye strain are common.

Back Next
×

Christmas and New Year Opening Times

Saturday 24th December 9am - 1pm
Sunday 25th December CLOSED
Monday 26th December CLOSED
Tuesday 27th December CLOSED
Wednesday 28th December 9am - 5:30pm
Thursday 29th December 9am - 5:30pm
Friday 30th December 9am - 5:30pm
Saturday 31st December 9am - 1pm
Sunday 1st January CLOSED
Monday 2nd January CLOSED
Tuesday 3rd January CLOSED
Wednesday 4th January Open