0141 339 1720

251 Byres Road, Hillhead, Glasgow, G12 8UB
(Opposite Hillhead Underground Station)

Presbyopia

When we are young, the lens in the eye can change its shape allowing us to focus on near objects. After the age of 40, the lens becomes noticeably more rigid and reading at close range becomes increasingly difficult. This condition is called presbyopia and is a normal part of ageing.


What are the symptoms of Presbyopia?

Presbyopia is usually first noticed by difficulties reading in low light. Often, you may find it will take longer for eyes to refocus from reading to distance and from distance to reading. Spectacles may be required to give additional focusing power to the eye as reading proves more problematic.

The distance of reading dictates which power you would require. For example, looking at a computer screen will require a different power for reading a book. We will ask you about your lifestyle and take this into account when prescribing your reading addition to ensure clarity of vision for the required visual task. 

Back Next
×

Christmas and New Year Opening Times

Saturday 24th December 9am - 1pm
Sunday 25th December CLOSED
Monday 26th December CLOSED
Tuesday 27th December CLOSED
Wednesday 28th December 9am - 5:30pm
Thursday 29th December 9am - 5:30pm
Friday 30th December 9am - 5:30pm
Saturday 31st December 9am - 1pm
Sunday 1st January CLOSED
Monday 2nd January CLOSED
Tuesday 3rd January CLOSED
Wednesday 4th January Open