0141 339 1720

251 Byres Road, Hillhead, Glasgow, G12 8UB
(Opposite Hillhead Underground Station)

Retinitis Pigmentosa

Retinis Pigmentosa is a hereditary disease where a specific gene defect causes the cells in the Retina of the eye to misfire.

There isn’t a defined cure or treatment, however, many find the onset to be quite slow. The symptoms begin with central vision losses, but there are cases where the outside of vision can deteriorate slowly creating a tunnel vision effect.

Bad vision in environments with dim lighting at the later stages in life are considered early symptoms of RP. These can be connected to other eye problems which in some cases are called syndromes. The loss of hearing along with RP is called the Usher’s Syndrome.

Back Next
×

Christmas and New Year Opening Times

Saturday 24th December 9am - 1pm
Sunday 25th December CLOSED
Monday 26th December CLOSED
Tuesday 27th December CLOSED
Wednesday 28th December 9am - 5:30pm
Thursday 29th December 9am - 5:30pm
Friday 30th December 9am - 5:30pm
Saturday 31st December 9am - 1pm
Sunday 1st January CLOSED
Monday 2nd January CLOSED
Tuesday 3rd January CLOSED
Wednesday 4th January Open